Writing Through Stress

Last Week was tough, when I had to say goodbye to the best black lab(ish) ever.
As a friend pointed out, it never gets easier.

Leading up to that point, I found myself wanting to write more and more. Maybe it was a sort of escapism, but it didn’t feel like it. It felt like I was processing the situation, and allowing the emotions to be worked out some.
Since Annie’s gone to heaven (or doggy heaven, if you like), I’ve wanted to write… but haven’t gotten to it much, partly due to circumstances and partly because I couldn’t think of what to write. (hence, the most recent section of Elvey’s Adventures being a day late)

That’s how it’s always worked for me. During stressful times, I feel an urge to write, and sometimes it feels it doesn’t even matter what write.

Interestingly, it doesn’t seem to help much if I write about the stressful situation. It depresses me.
It’s thoroughly satisfactory to write about relatively random things, like different realms, time travel, conversations characters are having, or — to put it simply — whatever I happen to be working on at the time.
That, I think, is the oddest thing.
If things are rough at home, the dishwasher needs to replaced or something, I don’t write about my characters dealing with something horrible and traumatizing. I write about whatever’s happening next in my current project. Or if there is no current project, I start something new.

There’s no visible change.
Except, whatever character happens to be my main character, the ‘relationship’ changes. Since I’m writing them during a stressful or sad time, they’re more like good friends who stick with you through tough times. There is a definite, different relationship with them.

So, Terrance Elvey, thanks for being there when I needed you, and welcome to the Stressful Character Club. (I think I need a different name for it)

What do you do to deal with stress or grief?

Published by Homespun Tabby

Hi! My name is Sarah I am a seamstress, currently selling on Etsy, and I have many hobbies. My passion is to inspire hope, enjoy the simple pleasures, and carry on (worthwhile) traditions. I explore these things in my blog Homespun Tabby. I am interested in community, homesteading, music, and all the various interesting cultures in the world. Here's a link to my blog: https://homespuntabby.wordpress.com/ As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases

3 thoughts on “Writing Through Stress

  1. Sorry to hear about your lab. You could do a lot worse than stress write. I think writing can sometimes take me to the zone where I forget or at least lose focus on whatever it is I’m stressed about, so in that regard it is a good stress reliever.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tales From the Otherworld

The Ramblings of T.K. Wilson

Life in Copenhagen

Life in Copenhagen, Denmark, after moving during Covid-19.

The Misfit Farmer

agrarian misadventures, feats of agricultural exaggeration, plus lessons from a hard-knocking tractor

From The Quill

Aren't songs of grief lullabies to the lost?

Styled by Hannah

live your life in style

The Manic Seamstress

Because sewing is cheaper than therapy!

Fresh Frippery

Frills and Frivolity!

Living on the Diagonal

Modern Homesteading, Musings, and More from the Mountainside

The Beauty Beyond Bones

There's More to Life Than a Number

Chaos Coordinated

Inspiring Mom's to Corral the Crazy

Traced Elements

Unearthing Pemberton's food culture

City Homesteading

Practical homesteading for tight spaces and small places!

Grants.gov Community Blog

Connecting the grant community to #LearnGrants

Katie Lynn Sanders

Herbalist, Teacher, Healer, Painter, Weaver, Doula, Dreamer

trish stitched

Handbag Designer, Blogger, Petite Apparel Maker

Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

The Avid Seamstress

An Independent sewing pattern company dedicated to empowering makers.

Willow Valley Farmhouse Blog

Genuine Farmhouse Living

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started