Photography Friday: Huntress

This week has been tough.
On Wednesday we had to say goodbye to our black lab, Annie.
There’s no need to go into details or express how hard it was.
But I felt like I ought to say something here, because this blog is a glimpse into my life, and Annie was most certainly a part of my life.


But I’m going to do it her way.

(I should mention now that, in honor of Annie’s passion for hunting — well, she hunted things. So stop reading now if you’re squeamish. And know that all the things photographed here were not harmed)

Annie loved to hunt.
Besides people, food, and cuddles, hunting was one of the most important things to her.
And among the oddest things she hunted, are porcupines. Thankfully — and I mean that with all feeling, because I’ve heard of very unpleasant encounters with porcupines — Annie didn’t get close to the porcupine.
A more notable odd thing she hunted was an owl! I imagine that was the oddest thing to ever happen to that owl.

Obviously, Annie hunted rabbits.
Actually, she hunted anything small and furry, including small dogs from a distance.
If she couldn’t hunt little furry animals in the wild, she loved to inspect the furry animals at pet stores……………. Although I probably shouldn’t mention that too loudly.

When she wasn’t hunting bunnies in the arroyos, she’d resort to hunting lizards. And I’m afraid she’d catch them sometimes.
Thankfully, often they were just stunned. Annie didn’t like the taste of lizards, so would generally let them go quickly.

………….. Yeah, Annie hunted cats.
Or rather, we allowed her to glare at them………
Moving on.

Among the things she wouldn’t hunt was birds, unless she mistook them for something else (as with the owl). Once, however, she teasingly chased a gigantic crow out of the park.

Annie was a formidable dog; scaring bunnies, lizards, coyotes, dogs, family, and much more.
I can think of many exciting, unusual adventures I had with her, but considering she was an escape artist before we got her, I imagine there are many more adventures she had we’ll never know about.
I am sure the wild animals in the neighborhood will tell tales of the great black huntress for many years to come.

There were many lizardy bushes she pounced on, many squirrels she chased up trees, and many, many times she patiently shared a puppy hug.

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

Happy Friday 🙂

Published by Homespun Tabby

Hi! My name is Sarah I am a seamstress, currently selling on Etsy, and I have many hobbies. My passion is to inspire hope, enjoy the simple pleasures, and carry on (worthwhile) traditions. I explore these things in my blog Homespun Tabby. I am interested in community, homesteading, music, and all the various interesting cultures in the world. Here's a link to my blog: https://homespuntabby.wordpress.com/ As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tales From the Otherworld

The Ramblings of T.K. Wilson

Life in Copenhagen

Life in Copenhagen, Denmark, after moving during Covid-19.

The Misfit Farmer

agrarian misadventures, feats of agricultural exaggeration, plus lessons from a hard-knocking tractor

From The Quill

Aren't songs of grief lullabies to the lost?

Styled by Hannah

live your life in style

The Manic Seamstress

Because sewing is cheaper than therapy!

Fresh Frippery

Frills and Frivolity!

Living on the Diagonal

Modern Homesteading, Musings, and More from the Mountainside

The Beauty Beyond Bones

There's More to Life Than a Number

Chaos Coordinated

Inspiring Mom's to Corral the Crazy

Traced Elements

Unearthing Pemberton's food culture

City Homesteading

Practical homesteading for tight spaces and small places!

Grants.gov Community Blog

Connecting the grant community to #LearnGrants

Katie Lynn Sanders

Herbalist, Teacher, Healer, Painter, Weaver, Doula, Dreamer

trish stitched

Handbag Designer, Blogger, Petite Apparel Maker

Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

The Avid Seamstress

An Independent sewing pattern company dedicated to empowering makers.

Willow Valley Farmhouse Blog

Genuine Farmhouse Living

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started