Friday Photography: Tea Time

(Silly-Confession — for some reason, the last few weeks I’ve gotten mixed up if it’s Friday Photography or Photography Friday….. LOL)

Today I thought I’d feature a few photos that I took for props for my facebook (and eventually instagram) group. I’m going to take more pictures soon, and then I’ll do more of a behind-the-scenes sort of thing, showing some photos that I won’t keep. I am looking forward to that post.

I started with a set of photos of all the ‘pieces’. This included a stack of (blank) letters, a pinecone from down the street, a beautiful dried rose from up the street, a thoroughly-satisfactory pinwheel I’d made, a yummy oat biscuit dipped in chocolate that I’d made earlier in the week, and a beautiful Staffordshire Bouquet teacup and saucer.

A few interesting details about these props:
The ribbon around the letters was ‘hanging around’, and I tied it on to see what it looked like. I wasn’t planning on leaving it on, but then I forgot to remove it, and it looked so interesting and pretty in the photoshoot, that I just left it as is.
The pretty, rustic brown tablecloth probably should have been ironed… or at least the wrinkles a little more carefully placed. I didn’t iron it because, first of all, I was being lazy and wanted to ‘get on with it’, and I also liked the added rustic, comfortable look it gave. I felt like it fit Homespun Tabby with it’s imperfections.
The art on the pinwheel was inspired by Traditional Scandinavian Folk Art.
Finally, I picked up the rose a few months ago and it’s been sitting on our piano for a while. I was searching the house for some final, interesting prop, and thought the rose would give a nice touch.

This final photo is the cause of using my camera too long………….
I don’t know if I’ll keep it. It may come in handy, so I’ll keep it in case.

Have a great weekend, everyone!
Happy Friday!

Published by Homespun Tabby

Hi! My name is Sarah I am a seamstress, currently selling on Etsy, and I have many hobbies. My passion is to inspire hope, enjoy the simple pleasures, and carry on (worthwhile) traditions. I explore these things in my blog Homespun Tabby. I am interested in community, homesteading, music, and all the various interesting cultures in the world. Here's a link to my blog: https://homespuntabby.wordpress.com/ As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tales From the Otherworld

The Ramblings of T.K. Wilson

Life in Copenhagen

Life in Copenhagen, Denmark, after moving during Covid-19.

The Misfit Farmer

agrarian misadventures, feats of agricultural exaggeration, plus lessons from a hard-knocking tractor

From The Quill

Aren't songs of grief lullabies to the lost?

Styled by Hannah

live your life in style

The Manic Seamstress

Because sewing is cheaper than therapy!

Fresh Frippery

Frills and Frivolity!

Living on the Diagonal

Modern Homesteading, Musings, and More from the Mountainside

The Beauty Beyond Bones

There's More to Life Than a Number

Chaos Coordinated

Inspiring Mom's to Corral the Crazy

Traced Elements

Unearthing Pemberton's food culture

City Homesteading

Practical homesteading for tight spaces and small places!

Grants.gov Community Blog

Connecting the grant community to #LearnGrants

Katie Lynn Sanders

Herbalist, Teacher, Healer, Painter, Weaver, Doula, Dreamer

trish stitched

Handbag Designer, Blogger, Petite Apparel Maker

Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

The Avid Seamstress

An Independent sewing pattern company dedicated to empowering makers.

Willow Valley Farmhouse Blog

Genuine Farmhouse Living

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started